Police Home Cypress Home Cypress News
Cypress Police Department Fee Schedule

EXACT CASH, VISA OR MASTERCARD ACCEPTED
RECORDS: FEE SCHEDULE
TO REQUEST A COPY OF A RECORD, PRINT THE FOLLOWING FORM:
APPLICATION FOR RELEASE OF RECORD.
Complete the form thoroughly. Mail your application to Cypress Police Department, 5275 Orange Avenue, Cypress, CA 90630. Proper identification will be required at the time the record is released.
Citation (copy of lost ticket) $1.00 first page;
$0.10 per additional pages
In the event you have lost your citation, you should contact the police department business lobby about getting a certified copy of your citation. What do you need? Be prepared to have your identification and the date, which you were cited.
Crime/Incident Report Copy $1.00 first page;
$0.10 per additional pages
Copies of crime and incident reports are available for purchasing provided you are directly involved in the case. Following the criteria outlined in the California Public Records Act, all public recoreds must be submitted using the Application for Release of Records form. Each report request is reviewed on a case-by-case process. Turnaround time for a copy of a report may take anywhere from the same day review to as long as 10 days, depending on the nature of the incident. Most requests are generally reviewed within 48 hours. All records requests are important and prioritized as the come in. Juvenile Related information: Per the Orange County Juvenile Records Releasing Order, law enforcement must adhere to the rules outlined regarding any case containing juvenile information. All cases which contain juvenile information must be referred to the Orange County Juvenile Court for approval of the release of information.What do you need?Be prepared to provide a legitimate and legal reason for the purpose of your records request. Bring your completed form and picture identification (DMV Drivers license or ID).
Log Item (Computer Call For Service) Copy $1.00 first page;
$0.10 per additional pages
A log item or call for service printout is public information, with exception to any information not releasable per the California Public Records Act. We invite any member of public to review the log during business hours. All requests for a copy of a log item must be submitted using the Application for Release of Records form. Any public request for multiple log items must be reviewed on a case-by-case process. This is to assure that voluminous requests are being requested within a reasonable time period, staffing is not adversely effected, and that there is a significant need for the request. Log items to be used for court reasons should be requested well in advance to the court date of appearance. What do you need? Be prepared to provide a legitimate and legal reason for the purpose of your records request. Bring your completed form and picture identification (DMV Drivers license or ID).
Traffic Accident/Collision Report (Copy) $1.00 first page;
$0.10 per additional pages
Copies of a traffic collision (accident) reports are available for purchasing provided you are directly involved in the case and following the criteria outlined in the California Public Records Act. All public records requests must be submitted using the Application for Release of Records form. Each report request is reviewed on a case-by-case process. Turnaround time for a copy of a report may take anywhere from the same day to as long as 10 days depending on the nature of the incident. Most requests are generally reviewed within 48 hours. All public records requests are important and prioritized as the come in. What do you need?Be prepared to provide a legitimate and legal reason for the purpose of your records request. Bring your completed form and picture identification (DMV Drivers license or ID).
SUBPOENA RECORDS
Subpoena (Civil) for Records (15 day requirement) 15.00 + dup. cost
Subpoena (Civil) for Officer Appearance 150.00
Subpoena: Photo/Digital Duplication (4x6 only; 8x10 available upon request) 20.00 + .60 each
Subpoena: Audio Materials 40.00
Subpoena: Video Materials (may provide materials) 40.00
VEHICLE RELATED FEES
Abandoned Vehicle Removal 35.00
Vehicle Equipment –Cite Inspection (Sign-off) Free for PD citation and Citizens of Cypress; $15.00 for all others
Vehicle Release 85.00 Vehicles impounded or stored by private company located in the City of Cypress are subject to release fees from the police department.
What do you need?
All vehicles will only be released to the:
(1) Registered or Legal Owner of the vehicle (proof of ownership)
(2) with Valid driver license
(3) with Valid vehicle registration.
(4) with Proof of insurance
Vehicle Release (Suspend, revoked, Unlicensed Driver–30 Day Impound) 180.00 Vehicles impounded for reasons of a driver operating a vehicle on a known suspended or expired driver's license are subject to a thirty (30) day impound and vehicle release fee of $180.00.
What do you need?
All vehicles will only be released to the:
(1) Registered or Legal Owner of the vehicle (proof of ownership)
(2) with Valid driver license
(3) with Valid vehicle registration
(4) with Proof of insurance
Vehicle Release (DUI Arrest impound) 180.00 Vehicles impounded for reasons of a driver operating and arrested for driving under the influence are subject to vehicle release fee of $180.00. What do you need?
All vehicles will only be released to the:
(1) Registered or Legal Owner of the vehicle (proof of ownership)
(2) with Valid driver license
(3) with Valid vehicle registration
(4) with Proof of insurance
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Check 5.00 In the event you are in the process of or have recently purchased a used vehicle you and/or the original owner may request a vehicle identification number verification. This service allows the police to check the statewide computer systems to assure the vehicle has not been reported stolen.
REGISTRATION FEES
Gun –Volunteer Firearm- Registration   If you own a firearm, we encourage that you register your firearm with a licensed gun dealer. There are a handful in Orange County and they may be located in your county yellow pages or by Internet search.
Vehicle Permits
(Oversized vehicles: vacations, loading, sole means or new resident)
10.00 Details on RV/Oversized Vehicle Parking Regulations and Permits from the Cypress Municipal code.
PUBLIC PROCESSING FEES
Arrest Booking Fee 160.00 By law, any time you are arrested and booked jail, you are subject to a booking fee, upon conviction of the crime. All arrested individuals are provided a printed copy of this notification and are told of the service fee during and upon their release from jail.
Repossession - Verification Fee 15.00 In the event your vehicle has been repossessed, the finance company (legal owner) will advise you to respond to the local law enforcement agency to pay a repossession verification fee to the law enforcement agency. What do you need? Be prepared to bring your vehicle information, picture identification, and the date and time your vehicle was repossessed.
Ride Along (upon approval and criminal history verification process) Free The Cypress Police Department provides ride-along opportunities. Forms are available at our front counter courtesy of the Community Relations Unit. All ride-along applicants are subject to meet the requirements outlined in the application including a criminal history verification and will be scheduled by appointment once approved. What do you need? Bring your picture identification (DMV Drivers license or ID).
Local Criminal History Verifications & Letter (Visa Requests) 20.00 Local criminal history verification letters are provided for VISA immigration processes. Requests for local criminal history verifications are only provided on this basis and must be accompanied with the written request or forms provided by the County of origin or destination. For State criminal history verifications, we do provide forms that must be submitted to the Department of Justice. The Department of Justice has their own fee for this service. What do you need? Be prepared to bring a California issued picture identification. In order to qualify for this letter, you must provide proof of residency within Cypress for a minimum of six months.
Vacation House Checks (Residential Safety) Free In the event you are leaving your residence to go on vacation, the police department provides a residential check during your absence. Forms can be printed from this web site and can also be picked up at police department business lobby. Once you have a copy of the form, please complete it, and either deliver it or mail it to the Cypress Police Department at 5275 Orange Ave., Cypress, CA 90630, or FAX the form to 714.229.6612. Our volunteer program assists in this process by keeping a close eye on your residence. In the event you return early after submitting your form, be sure to give us a call to let us know.
ALL OTHER FEES
Storage of Relinquished Firearms (per court order) 64.00 per gun per year